Oct 102012
 
I'm a big fan of Jonathan Kellerman's Alex Delaware series so I had hopes I'd love the Daniel Rinaldi series as well. Both feature shrinks as sleuths.
I wasn't disappointed. Danny is a harder boiled Alex (he for instance used to box). The cops surrounding him feel real enough but aren't as entertaining as Milo Sturgis (but which fictional cop is).
The story deals with a patient dressing up as Rinaldi and getting knifed in Rinaldi's parking lot. Did the killer really want to kill Rinaldi? Or are there ties to the victim's rich father? Dan Rinaldi investigates and along the way ends up sharing his bed with a very sexy DA with a dark side and uncovers some very dirty secrets.
There's series of climaxes in the last few chapters revealing surprise after surprise in a way only Harlan Coben does better.
A well-written thriller with an intricate plot.
Jan 042012
 

Danny Rinaldi is a trauma expert and consultant for the Pittsburgh police. In his second adventure he's called in when a bank robbery goes wrong. He's asked to extract information from a traumatized witness to the robbery by an attractive female cop.That's when the twists start to pile up, nothing is what it seems in the plot of this exciting thriller. Palumbo manages to give Jeffery Deaver a run for his money in that department.
The robbery takes Rinaldi to corrupt lawyers, the suspect suicide of a mental patient and clashes with a violent criminal.
There's more than just a good plot though. The characters, although sometimes a bit stereotypical (the hot female cop, the boozing detective, the corrupt politician, the psycho crook)are real and vibrant enough.
Rinaldi is a great character, sort of a two-fisted Alex Delaware, that you can relate to but is still believable as a sleuth.
A satisfying mystery for fans of Michael Connelly, Jeffery Deaver, Jonathan Kellerman and Ross Macdonald.